This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

7.4 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
7.5
Comfort
7.6
Property location
7.2
Facilities
7.4
Staff
7.6
Value
7.2
Reviews
    geoffrey
    gb
    7.1
    20 January 2018
    Nice place. Waiting staff complacent
    Waiting staff. Ordered coffee no coffee arrived. Ordered again tea arrived.
    Lovely building
    Sarah Wren
    gb
    5.4
    19 January 2018
    Traffic & pollution significant impact on location
    Because of horrible traffic and air pollution in Varanasi, it is at least a 30 mins unpleasant drive to the ghats and this undermines the experience and viability of this place. Stay on Assi Ghat or surrounds if possible. Good homestay options coming on line. We saw a lot of rooms here before we chose one. Only go if you can afford the most expensive. Do not take ground floor or upper floors near the bar. Not a heritage place, more Travelodge with a heritage building as the dining area. Cleaning and linen just about ok, don't look under the bed! Pool very dissapointing in uninspiring location, noisy from surrounding air con units and views of building sites and communication masts. Bar/lounge area reminiscent of a 1970's Margate disco. Needs modernising and made conducive to lounging. Lovely garden but nowhere to sit and relax indoors (when very cold or hot) except aforementioned depressing bar or reception area. We went to the hotel lounge around the corner to chill out when cold.
    Lovely Staff (who got us out of a reservation issue) and friendly atmosphere. We had really good food here too, although the alcohol prices are comparatively steep. Good modern bathroom although the scented toilet paper and use of carbolic/moth balls disappointing.
    Sushil Kumar Nallana
    in
    7.5
    14 January 2018
    Overall a very good experience.. love to stay here if we were to comeback to Varanasi
    There is a gap in what was we expected as per options provided in booking.com website and what was actually provided in terms of room size that could accommodate 3 pax.. once you put 3rd bed the space gets cramped. Standard rooms are ideally suitable for 2 pax.For some rooms the interiors are very pleasant but for some rooms they appear bit drab. Hotel should redo all those rooms' interiors. Buffet breakfast menu options are adequate... but if they could spruce it up for wider coverage to cater to Pan India and international travellers it would be great
    The restaurant is located in erstwhile palace with suitable period architecture and gives a delightful experience. Food served is good but their service speed needs to be improved
    Rajiv
    in
    6.2
    4 January 2018
    Reasonably good stay after a few starting hiccups on the first day.
    The general upkeep needs to be better and facilities like showers, water pressure, should be periodically checked and rectified and not wait till pointed out by customers after occupying the room. In our case the shower holes were clogged (in both rooms we were allotted) and had to be fixed, which it was promptly the next day. Only one key is given per room. This was blamed on the software installed (not believable). This was very inconvenient as people had different tour agendas and one key between two people and kids is very inconvenient. When asked to put extra beds for the kids the house keeping started putting mattresses on the floor. We said this was not acceptable and beds were required. All sorts of excuses were being made why a bed cannot be rolled in. First was size. When we pointed out that if the mattress can be placed with place all around, the bed, which is the same size as the mattress can also be placed. Finally the bed was placed. When the Manager was called, the reason he gave for avoiding to put the extra bed was amazing. He said earlier a staff of the house keeping dept had broken the glass window of the room when putting up the bed. So they were avoiding putting a bed and making the extra bed by placing a mattress on the floor! For their mistakes and incompetence make the customer suffer!!!!!
    Staff was very co-operative and responsive to all requests and complaints. Anything not up to the mark when pointed out was promptly attended to without any excuses (except the issue of putting an extra bed - which required some discussion). The open space available in the hotel gave it a good appearance and helped separate the noisy areas like the banquet halls from the rooms.
    in
    5.0
    26 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Madhulika
    in
    6.2
    4 December 2017
    The facilities (TV) in the room didn't work as expected. The facilities didn't meet the requirements and accordingly the cost was excessive.
    Proximity to railway station
    NIRAJ
    in
    9.2
    2 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    silvia
    es
    6.2
    26 November 2017
    I do not recommend this hotel unless you want to be closer to the airport for a faster getaway.
    We had reserved a premium superior room and they gave us a gloomy room overlooking a wall and with the constant noise of a machine. Only after we complained they gave us a good room. The location is terrible. If you are in Varanasi to visit the old town and the ghats (which maybe is not such a big idea after all!!) be prepared for 30-45 minutes of tuk-tuk in the middle of the most horrendous noisy nerve wracking traffic.
    Good restaurant. Comfy beds.
    jesh
    in
    7.5
    20 November 2017
    good place to stay
    Sharon
    gb
    6.2
    18 November 2017
    Nice property, but needs attention.
    Could be cleaner (did change rooms because of this) and simple things missing in the room, ie. hairdryer. The corridors of the building are not nice. Wi fi a pain to get everyday, and always the usual stack of paperwork to sign. Service poor, especially at breakfast. Pool didn’t look clean to swim in.
    Lovely colonial building but a shame it’s just a bit rough around the edges. Decent bar. Loooks pleasant, would not take much to really bring this place up to a decent standard.
    Shilpi
    in
    6.7
    17 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Janice
    au
    9.6
    8 November 2017
    I found my stay at Surya extremely comfortable, the staff friendly and willing to go the bit to help
    The very slow internet.
    I liked the way the staff interacted with the guests for example the fun of Halloween, the waiters painting their faces and making our evening meal fun. I would like to praise the young man on duty in the evening (Mr. Kumar) I had extreme troubles with my internet. He was very patient and fixed my problem with little fuss.
    Manoj
    in
    3.8
    2 November 2017
    Worst
    Everything
    Nothing
    joanne
    gb
    9.6
    22 October 2017
    After 2 nights in accommodation near the ghats we were relieved and delighted to be a little out of town where things were much quieter, cleaner and more relaxed. We enjoyed the informality of the bar and the swimming pool was great and the staff around the swimming pool were courteous and helpful.
    Denise
    gb
    8.3
    21 October 2017
    A nice hotel, with great staff.
    The communal parts, the decoration needed some attention, it slightly let the hotel down, corridors and reception area. The pool area had a lot of portentional but again the chairs facing quite an ugly facade let a great area down. I loved the breakfast as I am happy with bananas and toast. There was more on offer Although my partner felt the choice was a little limiting.
    The beds were extremely comfortable and the room a great size. The waiting staff were lovely and the resturant serving dinner was great. The gardens were fantastic, which made for a relaxing stay.
    in
    5.0
    3 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    in
    9.2
    24 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Manjunatha Swamy
    in
    7.1
    22 September 2017
    GOOD
    Dawn
    gb
    10
    21 September 2017
    Excellent stay with our friends , thank you
    Dawn
    gb
    10
    21 September 2017
    Was a very pleasant stay with our friends missing it already😄😄
    Towels could have been a little whiter, a hairdryer in bathroom.
    The premium was was spacious staff friendly, our friends were located next door as requested and we were upgraded to a premium room free of charge.
Loading reviews